Afropunk!

This is perhaps the best punk documentary ever made!

I just stayed up until six AM in the mornig watching a amazing documentary called Afropunk and I’m amazed I hadn’t seen it sooner .  This film is a documentary about black punk culture, but it also much more than that!  Every minute of this film is to me a beautiful and important revelation full of personal and societal insight.  It documents a piece of punk and cultural history that has never been mising, but has never until now really been given the true attention, respect, and reverence, it deserves up until now.  Watching this film made me happy once again to claim punk as a unique piece of my diverse individuality.  Embracing uniqueness and diversity is the spirit of film, the spirit of punk, and also the spirit of permacutlture.  So in that spirit it is with great joy that I present to you below strait from the excellent director James Spooner Afropunk.   This film deserves recognition so please help share the spirit of this film with your friends, organize showings, invite the director to your school or organization to talk,  help him fund his next film, or overall just be supportive by telling folks about it and how it made you think and feel!

For more info see the awesome new Afropunk (the music and culture festival phenomenon) page

2 thoughts on “Afropunk!

  1. I remember a few years back watching the preview to this; over and over again I’d see it and this film mesmerized me. I never thought I could see this movie because I thought you had to get like a large amount of cash and they send you a film for a viewing so you could make some cash back but I never had it.

    I tucked it in the back of my mind because I know how it is (bing the only black person in most situations[Or atleast the only mostly black person]); its totally crazy how a few minutes can affect you and how it can change your entire viewpoint. So thanks for showing the whole film it was a long fuckin wait!

    Like

Leave a Reply

